

Scientific Division (SD)

Chair

Prof. Christa M. COBBAERT Clinical Chemist Head of the Department of Clinical Chemistry Leiden University Medical Center 2300 RC Leiden – THE NETHERLANDS E-mail: C.M.Cobbaert@lumc.nl Vice-Chair

Dr. Konstantinos MAKRIS Clinical Biochemist Clinical Biochemistry Department KAT General Hospital Kifissia, Athens - GREECE E-mail: kostas.makris.km@gmail.com

Secretary Dr. Saara T. WITTFOOTH Assistant Professor of Biotechnology Department of Life Technologies Faculty of Technology 20014 University of Turku - FINLAND E-mail: <u>saara.wittfooth@utu.fi</u>

Members

Dr. Vincent DELATOUR Reseach Director Bioanalysis Laboratoire National de Métrologie et d'Essais (LNE) 1, Gaston Boissier 75724 Paris - FRANCE E-mail: yincent.delatour@ine.fr

Prof. Pradeep Kumar DABLA Department of Biochemistry, G B Pant Institute of Postgraduate

Medical Education & Research (GIPMER) Associated Maulana Azad Medical College Govt. of Delhi, 110002 New Delhi - INDIA E-mail: <u>pradeep_dabla@yahoo.com</u>

Dr. Hubert VESPER Director, Clinical Standardization Programs Chief, Protein Biomarker and Lipid Reference Laboratory Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Atlanta, 6A 30341 - USA

E-mail: <u>hav2@cdc.gov</u>; <u>HVesper@cdc.gov</u> Corporate Representative

Corporate representative Dr. Christian Vogi Team Lead Immunoassay Development Indication Area Lead Anemia, Bonemarker and Immunosuppressives Roche Diagnostics GmbH 82377 Penzberg – GERMANY E-mail: christian.vogi.cv1@roche.com

Bureau International des Poids et Mesures

BIPM Observer Dr. Ralf D. JOSEPHS Principal Chemist Pavillon de Breteuil 92312 Sèvres Cedex - FRANCE E-mail: <u>ralf.josephs@bipm.org</u>

European Commission – JRC Observer Dr. Liesbet DEPREZ Project Officer Directorate General Joint Research Centre Reference Materials Unit 2440 Geel – BELGIUM E-mail: Liesbet.deprez@ec.europa.eu

ICHCLR Observer Prof. Ian S. YOUNG

Professor of Medicine Queen's University Belfast The Center for Public Health 1st floor - ICS B block Royal Victoria Hospital BT12 GBJ - Belfast - UK E-mail: <u>LYoung@qub.ac.uk</u>

JCTLM Consultant Dr. Greg MILLER Professor of Pathology Co-Director of Clinical Chemistry Director of Pathology Information Systems Virginia Commonwealth University Health System Richmond, VA 23298-0286 - USA E-mail: gregumille@wcuhealth.org

NIBSC Consultant Dr. Chris BURNS PhD Head, Biotherapeutics Division National Institute for Biological Standards and Control - A Centre of the MHRA Hertfordshire, EN6 3QG, UK E-mail: <u>Chris.Burns@nibsc.org</u>

NIFDC Observer Dr. Yang ZHEN Deputy Director General National Institutes for Food and Drug Controls (NIFDC) - P.R. CHINA E-mail: yangzhen@nifdc.org.cn

NIST Consultant Dr. Karen W. PHINNEY Leader, Bioanalytical Science Group Biomolecular Measurement Division National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Gaithersburg, MD 20099-8314 - USA E-mail: Karen, phinney@nist.gov

- From: Prof. Christa Cobbaert IFCC SD Chair
- Date: February 12, 2025
- Ref: 8.2.27 Call for Nominations for Membership of Committee on Bone Metabolism (C-BM)

To: IFCC Full Member Societies' National Representatives IFCC Affiliate Societies' Representatives IFCC Corporate Members' Representatives

Dear Colleagues,

In January 2019 the IFCC created a Committee on "Bone Metabolism (C-BM)", formed by the joining of the already existing Working Groups:

- Standardization of Bone Markers Assays (WG-BMA) in collaboration with IOF Working Group on Bone Metabolism

- Parathyroid Hormone (WG-PTH)

- Vitamin D Standardization Program (WG-Vit D)

The Committee, intends to replace three members who have completed their term of office.

The terms of reference and current projects of the C-BM are as follows:

- Standardize PTH assays
- Standardize or harmonize bone markers assays
- Standardize vitamin D metabolites assays

The C-BM Current Projects are as follows:

1. PTH assays

- Evaluate the commutability of PTH International standards and the need to create primary reference material
- Replicate the RMP in a second lab and create a network of 3-4 reference labs
- Create an accuracy-based external quality assessment scheme
- Constitute an appropriate and international panel of sera and plasma to establish PTH reference intervals
- Provide services to manufacturers, notably by providing a reliable source for primary reference materials
- Work on the improvement of PTH assay standardization
- Post-survey of the standardization effects

2. Bone markers assays

Continue the liaison with IOF and extend to other relevant international societies

Current CTX and PINP project:

- Collaborate with EQAS provider(s) to improve the surveys
- Constitute an appropriate and international panel of sera and plasma to establish CTX and PINP reference intervals
- Post-survey of the standardization/harmonization effects.
- Work on potential RMPs

Future projects:

_

Select biomarkers to be standardized/harmonized (bone alkaline phosphatase, FGF-23, sclerostin).

3. Vitamin D metabolites

- Support the work on vitamin D metabolites determination and the definition of new ratio of metabolites for vitamin D deficiency definition
- Participate in the settings and evaluation of international standards
- Post-survey of the standardization effects
- Propose services to reassess the true value of 25OHD obtained in former epidemiological or interventional studies that had used non-standardized methods
- Evaluation of vitamin D assays in different populations

Nominations for all positions, giving preference to one young (≤ 40 years of age) and two mid-career candidates, have to be send to **IFCC Office** (<u>elisa.fossati@ifcc.org</u>) <u>before 15 March 2025</u> including below documents:

- Enclosed Application Form
- Support letter on behalf of the Society or Corporate Member

Following approval, the candidates will be appointed for a three-year term on the Committee. A second three-year term is allowed following satisfactory review at the end of the first term by the Scientific Division Executive Committee following consultation with the C-BM Chair.

Sincerely yours,

Prof. Christa Cobbaert

wheel

Chair IFCC Scientific Division