

President

Doctor Graham H BEASTALL

'Laboratory Medicine Consulting' Mayfield, Birdston, Kirkintilloch Glasgow G66 1RW – UK Tel/Fax: +44 141 776 1565 Mobile: +44 759 004 1717 Email: gbeastall@googlemail.com

Vice-President

Professor Howard MORRIS

Chemical Pathology Directorate SA Pathology Box 14 Rundle Mall Post Office Adelaide SA 5000 - AUSTRALIA Tel: +61 8 8222 3031 Fax: +61 8 822 3035 Email: Howard,Morris@health.sa.gov.au

Past President

Professor Jocelyn M B HICKS

4329 Van Ness Street, NW Washington, DC 20016-5625 - USA Tel: +1 202 3630373 Fax: +1 202 3635322 Mobile: +1 202 2501057 e-mail: hicksjmb@gmail.com

Secretary Professor Sergio BERNARDINI

Viale Tito Labieno 122 00174 Rome – ITALY Tel.: +39 06 20902262 Fax: +39 06 20902357 Mobile: +39 380 4399292 Email: bernardini@med.uniroma2.it

Treasurer

Doctor Bernard GOUGET

Head of Public Health and Medical Biology Department Fédération Hospitalière de France 1 bis rue Cabanis CS41402 75993 Paris Cedex 14 - FRANCE Tel: +33 1 44068444 Fax: +33 1 44068445 Mobile: +336 0883 4604

Corporate Representative Priv.-Doz. Doctor Thomas BRINKMANN

Group Chief Medical Officer Unilabs Place Comavin 12 1201 Geneva – SWITZERLAND Tel: +41 22 909 7777 Fax: +41 22 909 7707 e-mail: ifcc@unilabs.com

Email: b.gouget@fhf.fr

Members

Professor Larry J KRICKA

Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine 7.103 Founders Pavilion University of Pennsylvania Medical Center 3400 Spruce Street Philadelphia, PA 19104 - USA Tel: +1 215 662 6575 Fax: +1 215 662 7529Email: kricka@mail.med.upenn.edu

Prof. Vanessa STEENKAMP

Department of Pharmacology Faculty of Health Sciences University of Pretoria Private Bag X323 Arcadia, 0007 - SOUTH AFRICA Tel: +27 12 319 2547 Fax: +27 12 319 2411 Email: vanessa.steenkamp@up.ac.za

Doctor Ulisses TUMA

Rua 7 No. 380 Apto 1502 Sector Oeste Goiania - GO 74110-090 - BRAZIL Tel: +55 62 32241852 Fax: +55 62 32916579 e-mail: ultuma@terra.com.br

IFCC OFFICE

Via Carlo Farini 81 20159 Milano ITALY Tel: +39 02 66809912 Fax: +39 02 60781846 e-mail: ifcc@ifcc.org http://www.ifcc.org From: Professor H Morris, Chairman, IFCC Awards Committee

Date: 11 June 2013

Ref: Call for Nominations of IFCC Distinguished Awards 2014

To: Presidents and National Representatives IFCC Full Member Societies

Dear Distinguished Colleagues,

As you are aware, the IFCC confers several distinguished awards to scientists and clinicians who work in clinical chemistry and laboratory medicine or related disciplines. These triennial awards are the highest honours that our federation can bestow to colleagues worldwide in recognition of their outstanding achievements, to publicize their exceptional research and other contributions that have improved medical and healthcare, and to stimulate and encourage other scientists to accelerate their efforts in advancing clinical chemistry and laboratory medicine.

On behalf of IFCC and its Awards Committee, I am pleased to call for nominations for the following seven (7) IFCC distinguished awards for presentation at the IFCC Congress in June 2014, Istanbul, Turkey. These 7 awards for 2014 are listed below and a more detailed description of them including the former honorees is shown in the attached leaflet.

- 1. IFCC Distinguished Clinical Chemist Award
- 2. IFCC-Henry Wishinsky Award for Distinguished International Services
- 3. IFCC Award for Distinguished Contributions in Education
- 4. IFCC-Abbott Award for Significant Contributions in Molecular Diagnostics
- 5. IFCC Distinguished Award for Laboratory Medicine and Patient Care
- **6.** IFCC-Robert Shaffer Award for Outstanding Achievements in the Development of Standards for Use in Laboratory Medicine
- 7. IFCC-Young Investigator Award

Nominations are welcome from the President or National Representative of the nominees' national society, which should be a full member of the IFCC. Each nomination should contain (1) a statement as to the reasons for nomination, (2) a full CV of the nominees including a bibliography, and (3) other letters of support (optional). They should be sent to Ms Colli-Lanzi of the IFCC Office, e-mail address: colli-lanzi@ifcc.org.

The closing date for receipt of nominations is <u>30 November 2013</u>. Please do not hesitate to write to Ms Colli Lanzi or me if you have any queries.

Yours sincerely,

Professor Howard Morris IFCC Vice President

Howard from

Chairman, IFCC Awards Committee