

IFCC AWARDS 2014

AWARDS

•	IFCC DISTINGUISHED CLINICAL CHEMIST AWARD - Sponsored by Beckman Coulter This award recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the science of Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine, or the application of Clinical Chemistry to the understanding or solution of medical problems.				
	1969 DD Van Slyke (US)	1978 CB Laurell (SE)	1987 HU Bergmeyer (DE)	1996 M Wilchek (IL)	2005 GM Siest (FR)
	1972 CP Stewart (UK)	1981 P Metais (FR)	1990 NG Anderson (US)	1999 DW Moss (UK)	2008 DS Young (US)
	1975 L Eldjarn (NO)	1984 P Astrup (DK)	1993 R Ekins (UK)	2002 CN Hales (UK)	2011 U. H. Stenman (FI)
•	IFCC HENRY-WISHINSKY AWARD FOR DISTINGUISHED INTERNATIONAL SERVICE (Since 1990) - IFCC DISTINGUISHED INTERNATIONAL SERVICES AWARD (1981-1987) - Sponsored by Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics This award honours an individual who has made unique contributions to the promotion and understanding of Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine throughout the world.				
	1981 M Rubin (US)	1990 ML Castillo de Sanchez (MX)	1999 M Shaarawy (EG)	2008 D Burnett (UK)	
	1984 P Lous (DK)	1993 R Dybkaer (DK)	2002 O Zinder (IL)	2011 C. Burtis (US)	
	1987 TP Whitehead (UK)	1996 N Tietz (US)	2005 JH Ladenson (US)		
	• •				
•	IFCC AWARD FOR DISTINGUISHED CONTRIBUTIONS IN EDUCATION - Sponsored by Abbott Laboratories This award honours an individual who has made extraordinary contributions in establishing and developing educational materials for our discipline to improve training and educational programs worldwide or in a region.				
	1999 L Thomas (DE)	2002 JB Henry (US)	2005 WJ Marshall (UK)	2008 N Tietz (US)	2011 M. Burritt (US)
•	IFCC-Abbott AWARD FOR SIGNIFICANT CONTRIBUTIONS IN MOLECULAR DIAGNOSTICS - Sponsored by Abbott Laboratories This award honours an individual who has made unique contributions to the promotion and understanding of molecular biology and its application in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine worldwide.				
	2002 L Peltonen (FI)	2004 M Ferrari (IT)	2007 U Landegren (SE)	2010 G. Tsongalis (US)	
	2003 RM Bertina (NL)	2005 CT Wittwer (US)	2008 O Kallioniemi (FI)	2011 M. Neumaier (DE)	
	PH Reitsma (NL)	2006 YMD Lo (HK)	2009 E Diamandis (CA)	· ·	
•	IFCC DISTINGUISHED AWARD FOR LABORATORY MEDICINE AND PATIENT CARE - Sponsored by Unilabs This award honours an individual who has made unique contributions in Laboratory Medicine, its application in improving patient care, and having a worldwide impact in clinical medicine.				
	2008 CWK Lam (HK)	2011 R. A. Wanders (NL)			
•	 IFCC-ROBERT SCHAFFER AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING ARCHIEVEMENTS IN THE DEVELOPMENT OF STANDARDS FOR USE IN LABORATORY MEDICINE - Sponsored by NIST CLSI This award honours an individual who has made outstanding and unique contributions to the advancement of reference methods and/or reference materials for Laboratory Medicine to facilitate improved quality of clinical diagnostics and therapies, which would in turn lead to reduced costs and improved patient care. 				
	2008 L Siekmann (DE)	2011 L. Thienpont (BE)			

▶ IFCC YOUNG INVESTIGATOR AWARD - Sponsored by IFCC

This award recognizes and encourages the academic and professional development of a young investigator (under 40 years of age) who has demonstrated exceptional scientific achievements in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine early in his/ her career.

2011 R. Chiu (HK)

IFCC AWARDS COMMITTEE 2012-2014

Chair: H. Morris (AU) Members: J.C. Forest (CA); M. Jouma (SY); L. Lai (MY); R. Sierra-Amor (MX); G. Sypniewska (PL)



Enquiries Professor Howard MORRIS Chemical Pathology Directorate SA Pathology Box 14 Rundle Mall Post Office Adelaide SA 5000 - AUSTRALIA Tel: +61 8 8222 3031 Fax: +61 8 822 3035 E-mail: Howard.Morris@health.sa.gov.au



Closing date for nominations "Awards 2014": 30 November 2013