## **Pierre Wallemacq, PhD, EurClin Chem** Cliniques Universitaires St Luc, UCL, Brussels, Belgium



Dr. Pierre Wallemacq, is Professor at the Université Catholique de Louvain, Medical school in Brussels, Belgium. He teaches clinical chemistry, toxicology and clinical pharmacokinetics, and served as vice-president of the Biomedical Sciences School. He is one of the co-founders of the Louvain centre for Toxicology and Applied Pharmacology (LTAP) in the Medical School, and supervises several PhD theses and post-doc fellows. He is also Director of the Laboratory of Clinical Chemistry in the Cliniques universitaires St Luc,

Brussels, divided in a large automated platform regrouping routine chemistry, tumor or cardiac markers, endocrinology, POCT, etc..., and a more specialized platform regrouping activities such as TDM, clinical, forensic and environmental toxicology, metabolic diseases, and special chemistry (GC, HPLC, UPLC, LC-MSMS, GC-MS).

He started working in the field of TDM since 1982 with his PhD thesis on cyclosporine, and is author or co-author of more than 180 peer-reviewed manuscripts and 11 textbook chapters. He has presented at more than 200 conferences on invitation. Most of his work was dedicated to immunosuppressive drugs, but he also published works in other clinical chemistry or TDM/TOX areas. He received the International Association of Therapeutic Drug Monitoring and Clinical Toxicology (IATDMCT) Charles E Pippenger Award, in 2011, for outstanding contributions to Therapeutic Drug Monitoring. Pierre Wallemacq is the pastpresident of the Royal Belgian Society of Clinical Chemistry (SRBCC-KBVKC), and the current president of the Belgian and Luxemburg society of Toxicology (BLT). He is member of the Editorial Boards of several International Journals such as Therapeutic Drug Monitoring (TDM), Clinical Biochemistry (CLB), Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine (CCLM). Since July 2009, he serves as Associate Editor for Clinical Biochemistry. In 2011, he has been elected President-Elect of the IATDMCT, and in 2012, he became full member of the Royal Belgian Academy of Medicine.